State of the blog 2008

20080129elc.jpg

My fellow bloggers and connoisseurs of cartoons:

Another year on the blogosphere has passed us by. We have endured flame wars, censorship, and half-brained journalism, and come through as strong as ever. While 2006 will be fondly remembered as a year for several new undertakings in the cartooning world on my part (namely becoming an editorial cartoonist for the Davis County Clipper and starting up Cooties), 2007 will be remembered as a year where we stayed the course and did our best to stay sane amidst new life changes (namely buying a condo and getting a new job).

One thing we can pretend was a notable accomplishment occured in June, where I was awarded for the Best Editorial Cartoon by the Utah chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists. This administration sees no shame in winning by default, and hopes to be unopposed nominated again next year.

________________________________

I will also take this occasion, like last year, to complete my 2007 Year in Review.

Unfortunately I was unable to repeat my victory as Time Magazine’s Person of the year, losing out to Russian president Vladimir Putin. I will try harder this year to assassinate my critics, suppress freedom of the press, and forge alliances with America’s enemies to try and regain this prestigious honor.

Time also named the 2007 invention of the year the iPhone, an amazing medical breakthrough poverty reducer toy that I’ll never be able to afford. Moving on…

Movies

I did a top ten movie list last year even though I only watched ten movies. This year I managed to watch 15 that were actually released in 2007! Here we go:

10. Surf’s Up
Surprisingly good documentary-style animated movie about surfing penguins. Hopefully the last penguin movie they make for a long time, though. B

9. Amazing Grace
Pretty good retelling of the life of William Wilberforce, who helped bring about the end of the British slave-trade. Amazing performances by all, if not an exciting movie. B

8. Pirates of the Caribbean 3: Dead Man’s Chest
It was the year of the three-quels, and this was one of my faves. Captain Jack Sparrow is now a cinematical icon thanks to Johnny Depp. Fun if you leave your brain at home. B+

7. The Bourne Ultimatum
Another good three-quel. Matt Damon makes these movies great. Intense and action-packed, but I’m glad I didn’t see it in the theater or the shaky-camera thing would have given me a seizure… B+

6. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
The three lead actors are getting better with each film, and the Harry Potter films boast the best supporting cast you could ask for. Of course, the book was better, though. B+

5. Transformers
Of course the acting was terrible, the dialogue cheesy, and the plot intelligence-insulting; what did you expect? But my wife still laughed at every audible gasp of nerd nostalgia that escaped my lips when a new Autobot or Decepticon was introduced, and my tangible awe of seeing Optimus Prime in all his chrome glory. A-

4. Hairspray
My wife was up and dancing at the end, and I would have joined her if I wasn’t a clod trying to act manly. One of the best musicals ever, and a good, non heavy-handed message. A-

3. Ratatouille
Why don’t I own stock in Pixar? Holy guacamole, they keep putting out such good stuff, even when I have to look up the spelling of the title… A

2. Hot Fuzz
A buddy cop movie that not only makes fun of buddy cop movies, but shows them how it’s really done. By the power of Grayskull… A

1. Meet the Robinsons
I know I’m the only person in the world who would think this is the best movie of the year, but I can’t help it. Great characters, beautiful animation, as uplifting as can be. Maybe it’s just ‘cuz I’m a dad. A+

Mentions (honorable and non): Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer (C+), TMNT (B-), Stardust (C+), Spider-Man 3 (D), Ocean’s 13 (B-), Evan Almighty (C-)

______________________________

Books I read in 2007 (that I can remember):
Fiction:
Peter and the Shadow Thieves by Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson – C
One Jump Ahead by Mark Van Name – A
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling – A-
Transfer of Power by Vince Flynn – B+
The Third Option by Vince Flynn – C+
Separation of Power by Vince Flynn – B+
Trojan Odyssey by Clive Cussler – C-
A War of Gifts by Orson Scott Card – A-

Non-Fiction:
America Alone by Mark Steyn – A+
America: The Last Best Hope by William J. Bennett – A-
Myths, Lies, and Downright Stupidity by John Stossell – B

Religious:
The Liahona Principle by Bradley Wilde
The Book of Mormon

About Nick Perkins

Insurance drone by day, cartoonist by night.
This entry was posted in Bla and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to State of the blog 2008

  1. Señor Dangriga says:

    I actually have a New Year’s resolution this year: 20 books for 2008. There are several waiting at the Bookmobile right now.

  2. Señor Dangriga says:

    Oh, and great pic.
    ¡Sigamos fuertes, cómo el Cartoonista!

  3. cartoonista says:

    ¡Viva la cartoonación!

Leave a Reply

