State-ments

I got to participate in a fun project recently: JB Winter‘s 50 States Jam: Izzy Tours America. Basically, Mr. Winter put together the project by having a different cartoonist from every state draw a fore and background around his own drawing of his character Izzy. He collected all of the toons in one nifty book, for a neat little tour around America. I was able to complete Izzy’s trip to Utah, a tasteless mockery of the local culture.

And while we’re on the subject of tasteless mockeries of Utah culture, my family and I were unfortunate enough to attend the Utah State Fair today. Maybe if you had tons of money to spend after paying the parking and admission fees you may have enjoyed yourself; we weren’t really in that kind of situation, though. Everything that was “free” pretty much made me think I was being punished for something, and the stupid and incredibly cheezy magic show made me want to slit my wrists. So if you have money you’d like to flush down the toilet, but want a more long, drawn-out, sunburny experience, go to the state fair, and punch the person at the ticket window in the face for me!

About Nick Perkins

Insurance drone by day, cartoonist by night.
This entry was posted in Utah. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

