Classic Cartoonista – Dental Dilemmas

from "Dadmocracy," August 2008

Kids, take your dental hygiene seriously! I am speaking from experience: between 6-9 months ago, I had a filling come loose, and every week since then I’d think “I really need to get that taken care of.” Lo and behold, a few days ago I came down with an annoying toothache. On Wednesday I was able to get an appointment with a dentist, and I pretty much knew what was coming.

For someone who has spent the last few years processing dental insurance claims, you’d think I’d have done everything I could to avoid hearing the words “root canal” spoken to me by a dentist. I know how much those suckers cost, even with insurance. Yet here I was.

Despite the horror stories generally associated with the procedure, it went as smoothly as I could have hoped for. I was numbed up and out of there in about an hour, but the pain med prescription I’d been given made me wonder what I was in for when the anesthesia wore off.

However, I’m going on over 30 hours post-procedure and I haven’t needed so much as a Tylenol. And holy crap, it’s so nice to be able to have a drink of cold water for the first time this year without wincing. So today’s lesson, kids: brush and floss every day, and don’t procrastinate your dental visits.  I’m sure my painless experience was an anomaly, like how Batman can jump off a building without dying, but you can’t. And yes, I’m saying I’m the Dark Knight of the dentist’s chair. I think I’ll go get another root canal tomorrow, in fact, with this guy.

About Nick Perkins

Insurance drone by day, cartoonist by night.
This entry was posted in Classic Cartoonista, Dadmocracy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

