Sunstone cartoons

Last week I had a piece published in Sunstone magazine, a publication which explores and discusses “contemporary scholarship, literature, and social issues” geared toward members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, to which I belong. The issue is devoted entirely to comics by, for, and about us Mormons. There’s a great article about the infusion of Mormon theology by Mike Allred in his amazing comic Madman, which I loved. Can I just say what a thrill it is to have my work included among such great creators as Sal Velluto (who did the cover), Brandon Dayton, Jake Parker, Brian Crane, Howard Tayler, Tyler Kirkham, and Adam Koford?

I was given 2 double-page spreads for the issue. I focused my contribution on politics, with a National Treasure-style parody of two very famous Mormon figures in media and politics. Regular subscribers to Sunstone will be very familiar with the topics I satirize, but for those of you who don’t follow the intricacies of politics and Mormonism (because who doesn’t, right?), check out this paranoia-laden piece by Dana Milbank to learn about the “White Horse Prophecy”, something that is regarded either as prophecy or urban legend depending on which member of the LDS faith you talk to (and yes, I recognize that linking to HuffPo for reference is a new low for me; deal with it). After that, click on the images below to see the 4 pages in their entirety. Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Nick Perkins

Insurance drone by day, cartoonist by night.
This entry was posted in media, religion. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunstone cartoons

  1. Travis says:

    Congratulations on the publication. I don’t follow Sunstone, but this might be one worth picking up.

Leave a Reply

