John Blake sketch, Dark Knight Rises review

John Blake sketch The Dark Knight Rises

I had the chance this last weekend to attend a Dark Knight marathon; all 3 of Chris Nolan’s Batman films over a 9-hour period. I’m not ready to discuss any plot details yet, but they are definitely the kind of films that stick with you, in good and bad ways. The newest one, The Dark Knight Rises, affected a lot of people in different ways (complicated even further by the Aurora, CO shootings; not sure if I’ll ever comment on that on this blog). I’m still not sure how I feel about it. The epilogue was definitely satisfying; everything that it took to get there, however, didn’t leave such a good taste in my mouth. For me, the bar was set so high with Dark Knight that I really expected more from Nolan. The final battle/chase was something I could have seen out of any Hollywood action film. DK had so many layers of things happening at once (and Nolan’s next film, Inception, drew on that concept even further); DKR lacked that, in my opinion.

Politically speaking, this was right up my alley. Bane’s “liberation” of Gotham coincided directly with what the current Occupy Wall Street movement proclaims as its goals. When all the rich people had been dragged out of their homes and “tried” by the “people” (indistinguishable from any lynch mob), there was a scene where Selina Kyle picks up a broken family photo amidst the debris of an overrun home and says “This was someone’s house.” To which her friend replies, “Now it’s everybody’s house.” That scene, to me, encapsulated the whole ideology that progressive demagogues and the Occupy movement espouse. I don’t have any illusions that Chris Nolan is any kind of conservative, politically speaking, but I just don’t find it coincidental that the theme of this movie is so timely, in an election season where prosperity and achievement are demonized and belittled. Bane is a fictional character, but the idea of “equality” he strives for at any cost is the same as a lot of people in power who want to control our lives. I would apologize for the political rant in a post about a sketch from a movie, but you know what you get when you come here.

Anyway though, I’ll be devoting my morning sketch time this week to DKR characters. First up is John Blake, the idealistic cop who bears a striking resemblance to another character I hope someone can build a franchise around. I did it toying around with the Adobe Ideas app on my iPad.

About Nick Perkins

Insurance drone by day, cartoonist by night.
This entry was posted in sketches and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

