State of the blog 2013

cartoonista2012 was a tough year for many people, job seekers and Republicans among them. I had my share of troubles as well, but look forward to a more productive, happy 2013. While my  acquisition of an iPad a year ago made for a great information-compiling, entertaining and educational year, I have to admit I spent more time using it to watch other people create instead of creating with it. This year I’m just gonna put down all the tutorials and get to work. I think I can learn better by making mistakes and moving on than I can any other way.

I have many personal goals devoted to improving my spirituality, marriage, and body. I’ve also got some set in place regarding my artwork as well; I’ll get to those in another post. I have a habit of making promises I can’t keep, so I’ll just keep quiet and let the work speak for itself this year. I did create a fun little review image of some of the art I was able to create this year:

2012review

Most of the art I created came from the yearly family calendar, along with some iPad sketches and guest art for other creators. There will be significantly more Cooties comics in the next one. 🙂

Now, here were my favorite things from 2012!

Vacations! 2012 was full of good traveling fun. Trips to St. George, Utah (a short drive away from northern Utah snow), camping at Spruces, and the Utah Shakespeare Festival were some highlights; but the trip we took to California during Spring Break was pretty epic for us. We hit the beach, Disneyland, California Adventure, and Legoland all in a week. It was so good for my wife and I to expose our kids to these great places and just have a blast with them.

Legoland

Theatre – One thing my side of the family definitely does well is attend the theater together. We were able to see all 6 shows at the Utah Shakespeare Festival, plus some. My favorites:
Titus Andronicus – One of Shakespeare’s early plays, basically a Shakespearean slasher flick. Gruesome, and the production was amazing.
Les MiserablesAlways a good show. Looking forward to catching the film later, but I don’t think it will match up to the stage version.
Hamlet
Arguably the greatest play ever written; USF’s production was a modern-dressed take, but the original script is great for any period.
Wicked
It was so cool to see this show come to Salt Lake City. It was amazeballs.

Books – I am usually more of a prolific reader than this. Definitely a sign I need to put down the iPad unless I’ve got the Kindle app open…my favorites were:
Abraham Lincoln: God’s Humble Instrument by Ron L. Andersen
Gettysburg: The Graphic Novel by C.M. Butzer- History through comics! Sweet!
Friends With Boys by Faith Erin Hicks
Drama by Raina Telgemeier

Movies – ‘Twas a good year for movies for folks like me who love comics & animation (read:NERDS). The ones I liked best?
Pixar brave MeridaBrave – A year without a Pixar film is bleak indeed. This one about a selfish teenage princess who causes an un-bear-able mess (I can hear you groaning :)) holds up as one of their better ones.
avengersAvengers – A crazy, funny, nerdy, punchy, blasty, hammery, arrowy, smashy, shield-throwy, Whedony thrill ride. Everything I could have asked for and more.
Wreck-It Ralph VannelopeWreck-It Ralph – While Avengers had more gaping-mouth awesome moments in the theater for me, this movie had characters I fell in love with and a message that warmed my shriveled black heart. Best movie of 2012.

Honorable Mentions: Lincoln, The Hunger Games, Taken 2, The Dark Knight Rises, Mirror Mirror, and I still haven’t seen The Hobbit yet.

Best videos:

Bob Ross Remixed – this collection of Bob Ross moments put to music has become one of my favorite morning affirmations before I put pen to paper.


Bad Lip Reading: 2012 Debate – a great bit of silliness to help us remember this past election year with a chuckle instead of foreboding doom 🙂 !

My favorite song of the year:

Owl City – When Can I See You Again?
While I love the song itself, the fact that it played during the closing credits of Wreck-It Ralph as variations on the classic games of my childhood swept by make it that much better for me.

Best failed prediction – Um, can you say Mayan Apocalypse? Glad we’re done with this.

That’s it! Have a happy 2013!

About Nick Perkins

Insurance drone by day, cartoonist by night.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to State of the blog 2013

  1. Sara says:

    Nice recap, Nick. I esp. love the Bob Ross compilation! It’s very easy for me also to look at what others are doing, or watch / read how to do things. Or even get caught up in thinking about what I would draw and how, but not actually doing it. But practice is priceless…. keep drawing!! Happy New Year ♥

Leave a Reply

