Salt Lake Comic Con 2014 Report

ComicCon1

It’s been over a year since I’ve updated the blog, but I certainly haven’t been idle. I’ve been plugging away at my webcomic, Cooties, and, since Salt Lake City finally has an official twice-yearly Comic Con (two blocks from where I work, no less), I finally decided to get down to business and get a print edition put together. Cooties issue #1 debuted at Salt Lake Comic Con on September 4th, and is now up for sale on Indyplanet!

I shared a table with fellow indie comicker Mark Harmon, and I met my goal of breaking even. I learned a ton about tabling in Artist Alley; foremost, people visiting AA are more interested in buying original art of their favorite characters from creators than they are in independent comics they’ve never heard of. I made a lot more money drawing commissions than I did with Cooties. Something to think about for next time.

Anyway, here are shots of some of the commissions I did:

1 – Rocket & Groot!
ComicCon2
2 – TMNT Mikey
ComicCon3
3- Daryl and Rick from The Walking Dead
ComicCon4
4 – Some video game characters I’d never heard of
ComicCon5
5 – 50’s greaser Batman!
ComicCon6
6 – Steampunk Ron Swanson
ComicCon7
7 – Ronan the Accuser from GotG (How it REALLY should have ended)
ComicCon8
To sum up, I had a blast, and even let my sons have some time selling their drawings at my table (I would have killed for that at their age). I met a lot of great people, and am looking forward to my next opportunity to table again next year!

About Nick Perkins

Insurance drone by day, cartoonist by night.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

