Webcomics Wednesday: Rock & Tin

blog20150408a

One of the best things about social media for online artists like myself is the chance to meet and network with other creators. Finding work that inspires me is half the fun of what I do, so if I can give back a little by sharing their work with others, I want to make time do do so.

I’ve followed Tom Dell’Aringa’s work for a while; his comic Marooned was a fun take on a Mission to Mars adventure, and his new comic Rock & Tin is a great mix of science fiction and fantasy. I don’t think I’ve ever read a story about robot wizards before!

blog20150408b

The main characters are Mechmagus, leader of a band of robots on an abandoned mining planet, and Peto, a stone golem trying to overcome his programmed nature. Mechmagus’ evil brother wants to use the remaining robots on the planet for his own selfish purposes, and he is winning the war. It deals with themes of free will and ego, and is quite different from most other comics out there.

The artwork is simple at first glance, but Tom is great at doing a lot with a little. The characters are distinctive, he can put a page together with great flow and pacing, and Rock & Tin has some of the prettiest grayscale landscapes I’ve seen in any comic! I think Tom is creating something pretty special with it. Give it a look!

About Nick Perkins

Insurance drone by day, cartoonist by night.
This entry was posted in Webcomic Wednesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

