State of the blog 2016

2015 will be fondly remembered by me. I have lots of good memories with my great kids, I had a great art year, and watched a ton of movies to give me creative inspiration. 😉 (see my Best Movies 2015 round-up here). When making goals for the new year, I find it useful to reflect back on the previous year, which also makes for a nifty blog post. So here we go…

THE KIDS
My role as dad is the most important in my life. That doesn’t mean I’m a particularly great one, but I strive to be there for my kids when they need me. Even spending time grocery shopping or doing homework together is something I cherish, because I can just be with them. Some highlights for me this year:

BrandonBandFestivalFocus

Chaperoning Brandon’s Band Festival performance. He plays the flute!

SadieKidsToWorkDay

Taking Sadie to Bring Your Kids to Work Day!

AdamsTheater

Attending King Lear at the Utah Shakespeare Festival with my camera-averse son Nate

Other fun activities included a museum visit, going to Boondocks, tabling at Comic Con together (more on that later), Fathers & Sons camp with my boys, a trip to Snow Canyon State Park, planting & tending a pumpkin patch together, fishing at the trout farm, attending a Desert Star Theater performance, and several Improvables shows.

THE ART
20160103I made a special effort in 2015 to focus on finishing Episode 1 of my online comic, Cooties, and I’m happy to report that it was a goal that I met, coming exactly down to the wire on Dec 31. I’m currently working on getting the whole 222-page story ready in print form for Salt Lake Comic Con FanX in March. While the work as a whole isn’t particularly professional-looking, for me it represents the culmination of nine years of work, learning and growing; and a kidney punch to my tendency to not finish what I start. For info on the future of Cooties, click here.

ComicCon2015I had the great opportunity to table at Salt Lake Comic Con in January and September this year. My kids are the best table helpers, and Nate even sold several drawings, as well. I love how it’s almost like a little family business that we can do together. It’s also a good way for me to continually take stock of where I’m headed as an artist, and come up with new ways to make it more profitable.

My art goals for 2016 are geared toward heading in a more professional direction. I’ve enrolled in Will Terry’s Society of Visual Storytelling courses in order to get some digital painting skills. I’ll be creating a professional online portfolio and will write & illustrate a children’s book. Since it will be my first effort, it will likely be a self-published one. I’ve found that for me, the best way to learn is by creating my own projects. It’ll be exciting to see how it all turns out!

OTHER FAVES
Here are a few of my other favorite things of 2015!

Best cast reunion: Jimmy Fallon & Saved By The Bell

Best parody: Sesame Street takes on House of Cards

Best action scene: The Daredevil hallway fight!

(runner-up: the one-take 3-round fight scene in Creed)

Best ridiculousness: Daddy’s gotta go to work

Best cover: Blue Man Group does the Game of Thrones theme

Best mashup: Hell’s Club (warning: some swears)

Best Back to the Future Day reprise (awesome and kind of sad at the same time)

Best motivational speech:

Best artist: Katie Cook (check out her Instagram!)

And that’s it! Hope you all have a great 2016!

About Nick Perkins

Insurance drone by day, cartoonist by night.
This entry was posted in year in review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

