Final Inktober thoughts

20161107

This year’s Inktober project has been very beneficial for me in many ways. First of all, the satisfaction that comes from seeing a project (even a small one) all the way through to completion is extremely motivating. I was constantly in the mood to create, but without the dark looming cloud of pressure and heaviness that can accompany a larger, much  more involved body of work. Second, it gave me a chance to examine an often neglected spiritual aspect of my life and focus on what I can share with others without being preachy about it.

And hey, I’ve already got a bunch of ready-made Christmas presents for a few of my friends and family! Just go on Amazon and buy some bulk frames & mattes, and BAM:
20161107a

So how to build on what I’ve accomplished? I can put a booklet of these images together with the quotes that inspired them for a book of inspiration or a small coloring/activity book for kids, maybe. I’m trying to learn ways to maximize what I can do with a single image rather than drawing something and just giving away or selling it and having nothing else to show for it. So I’ll keep you posted.

Also, drawing these small pictures in ink just reminded me how much I love this medium. I’ve been spending a lot of time learning to work digitally over the last few years (I’m still terrible), and doing this brought a lot of fun memories back. So, I’m going to institute an Ink Week every month, where I will do 4-5 small ink drawings. They might be for journaling purposes, fan art to sell at Comic Con, gifts, whatever. It will be good practice for me in finding ways to maximize work that I can do quickly.

About Nick Perkins

Insurance drone by day, cartoonist by night.
This entry was posted in Inktober, process and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

